The Europeans

The Europeans

David Clarke

Price £9.99

ISBN: 978-1-911027-69-0


Date: 21st March 2019

Format: Paperback

Extent: 80 pp





David Clarke, winner of the Michael Marks Poetry Award 2013 and longlisted for the Polari Prize in 2016, returns with a second collection of poems, The Europeans in March 2019. Timely, wry and close-to-home, these poems explore journeys, ideas of nationhood, difficult histories and the optimism of a time and when Europe and Britain enjoyed a quite different entente cordiale.




"‘Meet me in the lobby of the Hotel Europa… Call it a dream, a happy accident. If you must, a lie.’ The poetry of David Clarke commands its many subjects with captivating humour, absorbing memories, and flashes of anger against ignorance or murderous prejudice. Whether in accounts of school exchange visits, or of W. H. Auden’s ‘difficult love’, Clarke’s authoritative new collection offers profound pleasures, and deepening regrets, in a poetic continent where every reader must confront ‘your own untruth’. The Europeans is certainly a book for the present. It is also a book for our uncertain future." - Alison Brackenbury


'Who are The Europeans? That long-standing and now politicized ambiguity is the watermark on each page of David Clarke's new collection. It’s an exploration of acquaintance and intimacy with some of the different normalities beyond the White Cliffs, and a new look at the upstairs pub room that seems familiar. It includes the best gathering of found Brexit similes I expect to see in my lifetime, and a poem on stately homes that needs to be broadcast before every re-run of Downton Abbey. With targeted humour, an eye for the mobile and the sedentary, repurposing the mundane, David Clarke takes us to estates of all kinds, to both Leeds Central and Milano Centrale, knows the ice cream van and the wine list, and "the many conjugations / of to be".'

- Alistair Noon





David Clarke was born in Lincolnshire. His first pamphlet, Gaud, won the Michael Marks award in 2013. His first collection, Arc, was published by Nine Arches Press in 2015 and was longlisted for the Polari Prize. Another pamphlet, Scare Stories, was published by V Press in 2017 and was named a Poetry School ‘Book the Year.’ His poems have appeared in magazines including Magma, Tears in the Fence, Long Poem Magazine and The Interpreter’s House.

The Nine Arches Press blog features poems from many of our poets, as well as interviews and articles.

Join us here.

You may also like...

Longlisted for the 2016 Polari Prize, David Clarke’s first full collection, Arc, invites readers to follow its trail of fleet-footed poems - to be swept along from sonnets for Scott Walker to Orpheus as white van man, via ‘epic fails’ and sword-swallowing for beginners. It’s a memorable trip you’ll want to start afresh as soon as you finish reading.