Ian Humphreys

Cover artwork: Louise Crosby


Price £9.99

ISBN: 978-1-911027-70-6


Date: 11th April 2019

Format: Paperback

Extent: 80 pp





Zebra is the debut collection from Hebden Bridge-based Ian Humphreys. These acutely-observed and joyful poems explore mixed identities, otherness, and coming-of-age as a gay man in 1980s Manchester.


Praise for Ian Humphreys:

"A powerful, moving, original body of work. The material in Zebra is often high-voltage and emotionally risky, but Ian Humphreys' confidence with form enables him to control it. These are poems which will find readers, hit nerves, matter to people... and what more can we want for our work?" - Jean Sprackland


"With its depictions of 1980s gay culture and multiracial heritage, Zebra is a love poem to identity – and the complicated, violent world in which it is shaped. Ian Humphreys celebrates and mourns that world in his fierce, delicate mastery of language: the collection rings with an extraordinary combination of pride and fury, love and grief. Glorious in every sense of the word, this is an important book, and I am very grateful for it." - Clare Shaw


"Ian has an enviable gift of finding final lines of poems, many of which are seared on the surface of my memory."

– Mona Arshi, in Ten: Poets of the New Generation (Bloodaxe Books)


Ian Humphreys lives in West Yorkshire. He has been widely published in journals and anthologies, such as The Poetry Review, The Rialto, Ambit, Magma and The Forward Book of Poetry 2019. Awards include first prize in the Poetry Society’s Hamish Canham Prize. In 2018, he was highly commended in the Forward Prizes for Poetry. Ian is a fellow of The Complete Works, which promotes diversity, quality and innovation in British poetry. In 2017, a portfolio of his poems was published in Ten: Poets of the New Generation (Bloodaxe Books).

The Nine Arches Press blog features poems from many of our poets, as well as interviews and articles.

Join us here.

You may also like...

Longlisted for the 2016 Polari Prize, David Clarke’s first full collection, Arc, invites readers to follow its trail of fleet-footed poems - to be swept along from sonnets for Scott Walker to Orpheus as white van man, via ‘epic fails’ and sword-swallowing for beginners. It’s a memorable trip you’ll want to start afresh as soon as you finish reading.