Velvel's Violin

Velvel's Violin

Jacqueline Saphra

ISBN: 978-1-913437-74-9

eISBN: 978-1-913437-75-6

Price: £10.99

Publication date: 6th July 2023

Format: Paperback / eBook

Territories: World


DCF: Poetry Collections


Velvel’s Violin, a moving and powerful fifth collection by TS Eliot Prize shortlisted poet Jacqueline Saphra, shifts between past and present, revealing stories, missing histories, collective and inherited traumas from the Jewish diaspora: a warning to a world where hatred is on the rise and the legacy of the Holocaust echoes current narratives of displacement and migration.

Jacqueline Saphra is a poet, playwright and teacher. Recent collections are All My Mad Mothers, shortlisted for the 2017 T.S. Eliot prize and Dad, Remember You are Dead (2019), both from Nine Arches Press. A Bargain with the Light: Poems after Lee Miller (2017) and Veritas: Poems after Artemisia (2020) were published by Hercules Editions. Her most recent play, The Noises was nominated for a Standing Ovation Award. One Hundred Lockdown Sonnets was published by Nine Arches Press in 2021 and her fifth collection, Velvel’s Violin will be out in summer 2023. She is a founder member of Poets for the Planet and teaches and mentors for The Poetry School.


You may also like...

Jacqueline Saphra followed her critically acclaimed, T. S. Eliot Prize shortlisted All My Mad Mothers (2017) with Dad, Remember You Are Dead. A disturbing relationship lies at the core of poems that confront patriarchy, power and the male canon, and consider the damage dead men can inflict on living women.

Find out more about Dad, Remember You Are Dead

The Nine Arches Press blog features poems from many of our poets, as well as interviews and articles.

Join us here.